29 January 2010

On Pop Culture Media

Okay, Pop Culture Media.  We get it, you want us to be overly-promiscuous idiots just for the sake of you covering more stuff.  But, please, think of the children!

Oh, specifically think of the poor little kiddies and preteens, and even some younger teenagers you delude every generation.  How you do it's quite simple, actually.

Oh, Pop Culture Media, you tell us that this is the hottest thing of the moment, whether it's a set of clothes or a celebrity, or a game even.  (Yes, I'm talking to you, Nintendo, despite my Pokémon fangirlism)  You have us buy all their stuff (or have our parents buy it for us, in the cases of the poor little kiddies and preteens).  You then tell us it's not cool anymore, and we go through this same cycle until we reach the point where we can make decisions for ourselves.  Then we realize we've been brainwashed for years.  Some people never get past it.

Not cool, guys.

How this relates to living beyond the fail?  Well, it's quite simple.  Find what YOU like, without the Pop Culture Media swaying you.  Try new things because YOU want to, not because it's "cool".  Don't be a slave to the media's insanity.  Think for yourself!

And, if you don't like what I'm saying, don't read more, but at least you're thinking for yourself to do so!

No comments:

Post a Comment