29 January 2010

On Pop Culture Media

Okay, Pop Culture Media.  We get it, you want us to be overly-promiscuous idiots just for the sake of you covering more stuff.  But, please, think of the children!

Oh, specifically think of the poor little kiddies and preteens, and even some younger teenagers you delude every generation.  How you do it's quite simple, actually.

Oh, Pop Culture Media, you tell us that this is the hottest thing of the moment, whether it's a set of clothes or a celebrity, or a game even.  (Yes, I'm talking to you, Nintendo, despite my Pokémon fangirlism)  You have us buy all their stuff (or have our parents buy it for us, in the cases of the poor little kiddies and preteens).  You then tell us it's not cool anymore, and we go through this same cycle until we reach the point where we can make decisions for ourselves.  Then we realize we've been brainwashed for years.  Some people never get past it.

Not cool, guys.

How this relates to living beyond the fail?  Well, it's quite simple.  Find what YOU like, without the Pop Culture Media swaying you.  Try new things because YOU want to, not because it's "cool".  Don't be a slave to the media's insanity.  Think for yourself!

And, if you don't like what I'm saying, don't read more, but at least you're thinking for yourself to do so!

27 January 2010

On Drinking

I just want to get my editorialness out of the way early with my first post in the Guide.

Look, kids.  Drinking isn't necessarily bad for you.  In fact, in Paul's writings to Timothy in the Bible, he tells Timothy to have a glass of wine for health.  However, the Bible also warns against overindulgence in many, MANY places.  Here's my guide to not overdoing it, in regards to the Stages of Drunk.

The most minor Stage of Drunk is probably the one where you should most likely stop drinking, because everything will still be funnier at this stage.  This Stage of Drunk is normally known as being "Buzzed".  You're in a more relaxed state, but you still have some of your inhibitions.  I wouldn't recommend driving or drinking more at this stage, BUT it will make those who indulge more be a LOT funnier.

The second Stage of Drunk, as my grandmother so aptly put it, is Half in the Bag.  I don't know where that came from, but you have pretty much NO inhibitions at this point.  You really shouldn't drive in this state, but you still are entertaining to those who are not completely sober.  In addition, you probably will still remember clearly what you did last night and kick yourself in the morning.

Also, here's the third Stage of Drunk, known as Completely in the Bag.  You probably should shut up right about at this point, because now you're just inane.  Your inhibitions are still gone, but, also, you probably won't remember what happened the night you drank all that.  Being blacked out and having no clue what you're doing (note: not passed out, we'll cover that later) or puking may be involved.

The final Stage of Drunk is, as I came up with, Blown Out of the Bag.  You will puke, and you will probably puke a lot.  You will then pass out (note: not sleeping intentionally, mind you).  You are long gone for the night.  Sweet dreams, and enjoy your hangover the next day!

Anyway, my point in labeling these Stages of Drunk is this: Don't get past the first Stage of Drunk!  It's not smart!  If at all possible, be a teetotaler!  The drunk people are much funnier when you're hyper than when you're buzzed!

On the Blog Itself

Well, you're probably wondering what this blog is doing here. Well, it's quite simple.

I'm a bored college student. I have random thoughts during my classes, which I write down. I expand on them when I get home if I have time.

As for why it's The Guide to Life Beyond the Fail? Well, you're looking at someone who tries to live her life beyond the fail, at least beyond the failings of society to try and better herself through Christ.

Also, there will occasionally be diversions on this blog that are off of the Guide to Life topic. I will review things that I have an interest in at times, just because I feel like it. Also, I will post bits of my writing if I actually get some of it down. However, mostly this blog will be life drabbles. Also, I will have a more positive spin on things than expected. Oh, sure, people are dumb, but that doesn't mean I have to be negative.

Here's to living a life beyond the failings of the world!